“Green” Gazpacho

by Jen

When it was so hot on Thursday, I went to the store to buy a watermelon and ingredients for this, though it was ultimately so hot that I was too lazy to make it that day.  However, since I dropped the watermelon on top of the ingredients, I needed to make it soon, so I pulled it together on Friday morning.

This is one of my favorite foods of all time, though I have never followed the recipe perfectly — in particular, I’ve never used exclusively green ingredients, so my version usually turns out to be a combination of red and green (i.e., brown).  I skip the avocado (mostly because we never bought avocados in Ohio) and sometimes replace it with carrot.  Also, these days I use five or six cloves of garlic and then begin by frying cumin seeds, red pepper flakes, and minced garlic together, because I prefer this to using the single clove of fresh garlic that the recipe calls for.

4 Comments to ““Green” Gazpacho”

  1. This looks delicious.
    Would you share the full recipe please?

    • It is delicious!!

      The recipe is from “The New Enchanted Broccoli Forest.” It can be found online in the Recipes section of Mollie Katzen’s website:

      http://www.molliekatzen.com/

      I follow the recipe closely, with some substitutions depending on what I have on hand, and it’s always good. The only substantive change I have made is to pre-cook the garlic, because I don’t always love the lasting taste of raw garlic; that being said, it’s probably even better with the raw garlic!

  2. Thanks. But I am a bit confused! did you put the watermelon in the soup?

    • Oh! No — it’s all vegetables and tomatoes. I have seen recipes for cold watermelon soups but have never tried them. If anyone has a recommendation, I would be interested in trying it!

Leave a Comment!

