Vanilla-Chocolate-Strawberry Cupcakes

by Alexa

I’m not really in to the whole cupcake trend that started up a few years ago and seems to be going strong.  Fancy bakery cupcakes always seem weirdly dense to me, and they invariably have too much super-rich frosting.  I mean, I’ll eat them and all, don’t get me wrong,  but I am a much bigger big fan of homemade cupcakes–they’re fun to make, fun to eat, and great to share with a crowd.

I made these cupcakes for a party, cobbling together a few different recipes to create a vanilla cupcake with a strawberry filling and a chocolate frosting.  They were a big hit!

(This recipe was very improvisational, so the quantities of batter, filling, frosting etc are a little inexact.  Just go with it, it will be awesome, I promise)

Step One:  Strawberry filling

  • Approx. 1.5 quarts strawberries, washed and cut into pieces (using frozen would be fine)
  • about 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2-3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch

Put the strawberries, sugar, and lemon juice in to a saucepan over medium heat.  The strawberries will soften and release their juices–use a wooden spoon to crush the berries against the side of the pan.  When the berries are mostly a mush, use a ladle to scoop out a bit of the hot strawberry liquid.  In a small bowl, mix the liquid with the cornstarch until you have a smooth paste.  Add the cornstarch mixture back into he strawberry pot, stirring well.  Cook for another 2 or 3 minutes, and then remove the saucepan from the heat and let it cool.

Step Two: Cupcakes

I used one of my favorite cake recipes for the batter–  “Golden Layer Cake” from the 1960 Better Homes and Gardens Dessert Cookbook, a fabulous source for all manner of retro sweets printed by the Meredith Publishing Company.

It is a basic yellow cake, moist and fluffy with a hint of lemon.

I actually doubled the recipe to make 36 cupcakes.  Here is the recipe with the doubled proportions:

  • 1 cup shortening (I used softened butter instead)
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons grated lemon peel (I used a bit more)
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 cups sifted cake flour (I used all purpose flour.  I’m not actually a fan of the texture cake flour gives cakes)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1.5 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1.5 teaspoons salt
  • 2 cups buttermilk (I didn’t have any–I mixed 2 scant cups regular milk and 2 tablespoons lemon juice and let it sour for about 10 minutes)

Preheat oven to 350.

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add vanilla and lemon zest.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each.  Sift dry ingredients together and add to butter mixture alternately with milk, beating well after each addition and ending with flour.

Line a cupcake pan with paper liners, and fill them a little more than halfway with batter.  Drop a rounded teaspoonful of your cooled strawberry filling into the center of each cupcake.  Cover filling with a little more of your batter. smoothing it with the back of a spoon until all the strawberry is covered.  Put pan in the center rack of the oven and bake for about 20 minutes, until they are golden and spring back if you gently press their tops.  (I baked mine in shifts so there was only one pan in the oven at a time)

After cooling in the pan for a moment, I took the cupcakes out and let them cool on a rack while I made some frosting…

Step Three: Chocolate Frosting

I used this recipe for my frosting.  It was good, but not quite chocolatey enough for me, so I threw in a few tablespoons of cocoa powder at the end and mixed it in.  When the cupcakes were cool, I frosted them and decorated them with some strawberry slices, and voila!

strawberry cupcake

Leave a Comment!

